Home > Belfast, History, Leisure > Revisited

Revisited

Radical Teapot

During last Saturday’s Flickr Meet at the recently reopened Ulster Museum, I had the opportunity to check out some areas I missed first time round. I may have been a bit “previous” in my criticism of the amount and type of art versus the historical artifacts that “should” be in a museum, in my opinion. While showing my eight year old around, it seems I missed a few areas that would have given me a more positive impression. In fact, I’m not even confident that even following Saturday’s visit I’ve seen all there is to see.

These two pieces are particularly striking. I’m not normally into art per se, but I’d like to steal this teapot! And the Horus II sculpture below had me wondering if it was perhaps a more suitable piece to represent Belfast than that “Statue of Thanksgiving”, given it’s similarity to the prow of a ship.

Horus II

Side-on though, it looks like the seat of my trousers. Maybe not a large copy of it then! I’ll shortly be back again to the museum to see what else I can discover…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment